Project: Eurocircle Travels is Born

2010 was a year of drastic changes for me.   As I sat there, scratching my head, wondering what to do with my life, it dawned on me that I should be having more fun.  One of my favorite pastimes has always been travel, and I am a huge fan of traveling solo.  There is nothing better than waking up in a distant land, in unfamiliar surroundings and having no one to rely on but myself. As a matter of fact, whenever a friend is going through a personal crisis, I advise him/her to just get lost- travel alone to a distant land, and don’t come back until you’ve learned to fly solo.

Aside from my desire to have more fun,  I also had this irresistible urge to lead. Having grown up folded neatly in my parents’ suitcase,  I turned 10 on my 10th circle around the world.  As a kid traveling to distant parts of Asia, I developed an appreciation for getting lost, finding my way around, and experiencing something most people have never seen.  As an adult, facing a huge life change, or perhaps an early mid-life crisis, I found myself hungry to get lost again. Only this time, I wanted to get lost with people who could add to my sense of adventure.

Having been with Eurocircle since early 2000, I had developed a powerful network of friends, business contacts and acquaintances from all over the world. I realized, that these are exactly the sophisticated, adventuresome, worldly travelers I wanted to come along with me, and thus Eurocircle Travels was born. The idea popped into my head in late 2010, and less than a year later, we embarked on our first adventure.

Since then, I developed a new appreciation for places I had seen dozens of times before.  Seeing Asia from the perspective of a Eurocircle leader, rather than a tourist, a child, or a business traveler, has renewed my interest in travel and triggered my need to make every trip an adventure.

For more information about Eurocircle’s Travels, check out my latest itinerary.

S

Leave a Reply

